my . artist run website  

Here is a review on my book Eerie Dearies 26 Ways to Miss School from the Publisher's Weekly website:

 

Canadian artist Chaperon uses a standard “A is for" structure in her children's debut, but when that A stands for “astral projection," it's immediately apparent that this is a rare and special abecedary. It's impossible not to feel the presence of Edward Gorey's Gashlycrumb Tinies in Chaperon's portraits of somber, willowy girls, tidily dressed in pleated skirts, Peter Pan collars, and ribbons. For G, a redheaded girl eating her breakfast cereal is beset by tiny gremlins that tug at her hair and arm. “Separation anxiety" keep a pair of girls from school—kneeling cheek to cheek, they appear to be conjoined twins. By themselves, the images can be foreboding, unsettling, or bleakly funny; what takes them to another plane entirely is that Chaperon paints them on the covers and interiors of weathered old books, creating delicious thematic connections. A pink book jacket screams Now We Are Enemies as a girl with a sword glares off-page for “R is for Revenge"; a “dumbstruck" student's empty speech bubble is set against a yellowed index page crammed with verbiage. Just creepy enough to make parents insist on driving their kids to school. All ages. (Feb.)Reviewed on: 03/24/2014 

-see review here: http://www.publishersweekly.com/978-1-927018-40-8



bg_37901396631065.jpg

 

I recently met up with my friend Sharilyn who writes the blog Weekdays From Scratch so I could give her a book to give away online. We met at Nelson The Seagull Cafe which is a great place for coffee and fresh bread that you can watch them make. 


bg_37931396631530.jpg
People can enter to win a copy of my Eeries Dearies book here at the bottom of the blog post: 

http://weekdays-from-scratch.blogspot.ca/2014/04/an-eerie-dearie-giveaway.html

bg_37911396631086.jpg
Image source {1,3}

Image source {2}



bg_37011396155444.jpg

Sometimes creating artwork is like a fist fight with an invisible critic...but it's worth it - you do some growing n' learn some new moves instead of only repeating old patterns! In this case I am exploring these strange little gardens hidden from time. A little world apart from the hustle and bustle of everyday drudgery. These paintings are loose in the application of paint and quite experimental, the grunt work is in keeping the composition together despite all of the elements at play in the image.
In the city we don't always have gardens - but sometimes there is a little space we call our own that serves the same purpose. Maybe we hang some nice art there or a quotation that reminds us of our particular interests and values. The space gives us solace and reflection. Do you have a place like this? Or is it time to create one? I'd love to hear about it because I'm very interested in this at the moment !



bg_35751395254521.jpgWe had a tonne of fun colouring at my event at Collage Collage, be sure to swing by there to pick up a copy of my book Eerie Dearies and find some inspiring kids craft supplies in one fell swoop.
bg_35761395254537.jpg

bg_35771395254569.jpg






bg_34721394598621.jpg

I am doing an event with Collage Collage !

Which is going to be family fun : )

 

Write it down in your calendars for Saturday March 15th Noon to 2pm. We are going to be colouring in some Eerie Dearies images and signing books. I hope you can make it!

 

Here is a link to the facebook event: https://www.facebook.com/events/225313777660975/

 

bg_34731394598868.jpg

 

 

Come join me at Collage Collage on March 15th from noon to 2pm for colouring and I will sign your book : ) 

I will have some prints for sale as well. 

Collage Collage is ocated at 621 Kingsway, Vancouver BC and if you haven't been there yet - let me tell you, it's an awesome shop and not just for kids. They have a gallery of art prints and originals that will make you want to redecorate your life : )

Book Reviews for Eerie Dearies:

“From one who forged her way through high school with endless notes from home excusing her from Guidance, these are the best creative excuses I’ve ever seen. Chaperon’s absent girls have nothing but presence. They are mighty.”
- Susan Musgrave (author of Given, a novel)

"After reading "Eerie Dearies," teachers will never again view "Please excuse..." notes in the same way...and students are sure to get extra credit for creativity in excuse-giving--even if it doesn't actually get you off the hook!"
- Shirley Wells (Watermark Books and Cafe) Read full review here.

"Author Rebecca Chaperon appropriates worn book covers, fairy tale themes, vintage clothing styles, and collage techniques to create layered illustrations/paintings that elevate cautionary tales to evocative high art."
- Yvonne (McNally Jackson Books NY)

"This twisted alphabet book is perfect for fans of Edward Gorey and his Gnashlycrumb Tinies. Chaperon uses each letter as a jumping-off point as a reason for truancy, but each reason is simply an excuse for a gorgeous painting. The use of acrylics on vintage book covers coupled with Chaperon's ethereal style add up to beautifully haunting visuals that spark the imagination."
-Sarah's January Staff Pick, 2014



bg_34741394599046.jpg

 

My book just turned up on the blog for Brickbat Books, a super cool bookstore in Philadelphia : ) 

 

Seeing all these adorable book stores makes me super happy - because bookstores really are the coolest places on earth and have only become cooler as books have taken on a strange novelty factor: see the words in print, touch the texture of the paper, and to literally hold a story in your hands...I digress!

 

Bookstores themselves have a great hushed quality to them. A cozy silence made up of closed books. I love picking up a book at a random page and diving in. I like to get this disembodied snapshot of a book's content and style. 


bg_34751394599065.jpg
I have great memories of going to the local 2nd hand bookstore with my mom. She read so many books at that time. We treated that store almost like a library - selling them back their books a week or two later! I loved science fiction the most. I remember reading a great deal of John Wyndham books like this one about blind earthlings and plant monsters:


bg_34761394600171.jpg
When I was a teenager I read fiction like a machine. I'd like to imagine that this changed the way I thought permanently, which in turn affects the way I create art. I was a highly impressionable teenager - at least in this way : ) 



bg_33271393526407.jpg

 

My book is in Texas : ) Super awesome stuff ! And they wrote an awesome review of my book. Here is an excerpt:

 

"After reading "Eerie Dearies," teachers will never again view "Please excuse..." notes in the same way...and students are sure to get extra credit for creativity in excuse-giving--even if it doesn't actually get you off the hook!"

     - Shirley Wells (Watermark Books and Cafe) 


Read full review here.



bg_33261393525615.jpg

 

I love being sent these pics of my book as it makes it's way into bookstores all over the place. This one was sent to me by my friend Morgan from New York's McNally Jackson Books.

 

"Our featured children's book, Eerie Dearies: 26 Ways to Miss School by Rebecca Chaperon, reminds us of the mysterious boxes created by artist Joseph Cornell. Cornell searched secondhand stores, record shops, used bookstores, etc. to collect materials eventually used/repurposed in his haunting shadowbox collages, iconic assemblages, and cabinets of curiosity. Author Rebecca Chaperon appropriates worn book covers, fairy tale themes, vintage clothing styles, and collage techniques to create layered illustrations/paintings that elevate cautionary tales to evocative high art." - Yvonne (McNally Jackson Books NY)