my . artist run website  

Return to News


bg_34721394598621.jpg

I am doing an event with Collage Collage !

Which is going to be family fun : )

 

Write it down in your calendars for Saturday March 15th Noon to 2pm. We are going to be colouring in some Eerie Dearies images and signing books. I hope you can make it!

 

Here is a link to the facebook event: https://www.facebook.com/events/225313777660975/

 

bg_34731394598868.jpg

 

 

Come join me at Collage Collage on March 15th from noon to 2pm for colouring and I will sign your book : ) 

I will have some prints for sale as well. 

Collage Collage is ocated at 621 Kingsway, Vancouver BC and if you haven't been there yet - let me tell you, it's an awesome shop and not just for kids. They have a gallery of art prints and originals that will make you want to redecorate your life : )

Book Reviews for Eerie Dearies:

“From one who forged her way through high school with endless notes from home excusing her from Guidance, these are the best creative excuses I’ve ever seen. Chaperon’s absent girls have nothing but presence. They are mighty.”
- Susan Musgrave (author of Given, a novel)

"After reading "Eerie Dearies," teachers will never again view "Please excuse..." notes in the same way...and students are sure to get extra credit for creativity in excuse-giving--even if it doesn't actually get you off the hook!"
- Shirley Wells (Watermark Books and Cafe) Read full review here.

"Author Rebecca Chaperon appropriates worn book covers, fairy tale themes, vintage clothing styles, and collage techniques to create layered illustrations/paintings that elevate cautionary tales to evocative high art."
- Yvonne (McNally Jackson Books NY)

"This twisted alphabet book is perfect for fans of Edward Gorey and his Gnashlycrumb Tinies. Chaperon uses each letter as a jumping-off point as a reason for truancy, but each reason is simply an excuse for a gorgeous painting. The use of acrylics on vintage book covers coupled with Chaperon's ethereal style add up to beautifully haunting visuals that spark the imagination."
-Sarah's January Staff Pick, 2014